Risbygate Masters 2020

2020 Masters winner Perry Martin in action during the event

Risbygate Masters Results and Report

16th February 2020

On Sunday the Risbygate Sports Club hosted their Fourth Masters Indoor Bowls event which featured several of the highest ranked bowlers in the World, many of which had competed in the recent World Indoor finals at Potters Leisure Resort.

The Risbygate Sports Club is again indebted to World Number 14, Mark Royal, who is also a member at Risbygate, for using his close connections with the top bowlers to ensure that we had 14 top bowlers join the 2 who qualified from Risbygate.

In the earlier stages Risbygate’s Matthew Smith was defeated on the last bowl of the tie-break when he was holding shot and Ellen Falkner took the jack and her bowl into the ditch. A fantastic shot and hard luck for Matthew who must have thought he had won. Dan Poole was edged out by Richard Summers from Norfolk, who stepped in on the day due to the illness of Ed Morris, and the other Risbygate bowler Mark Royal was edged out in the tie break to Jarrad Breen.

In excess of 100 spectators were treated to a feast of outstanding bowling all day. The matches commenced at 10am and the final bowl was delivered around 7pm. Despite the long day for both spectators and bowlers approximately 100 remained to witness a fantastic final that saw Perry Martin from Swale Indoor Bowls Club in Kent, playing at Risbygate for the first time, edge out Norfolk’s Wayne Willgress. Willgress had also been the losing finalist in 2017 and 2018. The sportsmanship throughout the day matched the outstanding quality of bowling.

As Mark Royal said in his closing address “I would like to thank Risbygate Sports Club and their organisers and helpers as well as the sponsors for making this day such a huge success. The bowlers have greatly appreciated the excellent support with so many spectators remaining to the end and we will be happy to return next year”.

Full results for the day were:

First Round:

Perry Martin defeated James Rippey 8-6, 7-3. Jarrad Breen def Mark Royal 4-6, 6-4, 2-1. Martin Heitzman def Jason Greenslade 7-5, 6-4. Ellen Falkner def Matthew Smith 4-7, 8-2, 2-1. Andy Ware def Jamie Walker 5-5, 10-5. Wayne Willgress def Katherine Rednall (the winner of the first Risbygate Masters event) 0-11, 8-1, 2-0. Richard Summers def Dan Poole 8-4, 8-3. Mathew Orrey def Greg Harlow 6-5, 5-6, 2-1.


Martin Heitzman def Ellen Falkner 6-6, 12-0. Mathew Orrey def Richard Summers 3-6, 7-1, 2-1. Perry Martin def Jarrad Breen 7-2, 3-8, 2-1. Wayne Willgress def Andy Ware 9-3, 1-8, 2-1.


Perry Martin def Martin Heitzman 7-2, 7-6. Wayne Willgress def Mathew Orrey 6-4, 9-9.


Parry Martin def Wayne Willgress 5-4, 9-4.